• Congratulations, Olga Korbut

The only conversation we’ve exchanged so far was brief and in regards to the peculiarly choppy Gulf waves we viewed from the causeway. My Grandma and I are en route to my parent’s house in Brooksville where about half of our immediate family will be staying or visiting this weekend. This is my first time driving to the new house since I just got my license reinstated after having it suspended four years for my second DUI. Never a confident driver, my heart’s palpitations are slowly but surely waning. I’ve made it past the causeway, merged on to an expressway and have finally started to drive fast enough that now only every other car feels the need to pass me immediately. Grandma and I are making a special stop at the Florida National Cemetery where my Grandpa, a proud Navy man, was buried a few years prior. We are celebrating the birth of baby Madeline, my grandparent’s tenth great-grand child. Beside me, my Grandma proudly clutches a bouquet of pink spray roses and baby’s breath I put together per her request this morning. We pass another exit

• as I say, “Alright, we can talk now.”